Cambodian Blogger Summit

July 25, 2007

The Cambodia Blog, aka Cloggers Team, is a group of young Cambodian bloggers who inspired by technologies in their everyday life. They have been working together on voluntary basis to conduct 14 workshops call “Personal Information Technology Workshop” at 14 different universities in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap with total amount of participant more than 1700 students. Each workshop has been conducted voluntary by the Cambodia Blogger Team incorporation with CityLink- an Internet Service Provider in Cambodia, and the university aimed to share experiences between bloggers and participants (students), and make use of the technologies available over the Internet for their study, work and even their every life. Especially, the workshop have also included an introduction to the new personal publishing platform – Blog or Web log, which has become a very popular and important tool on the Internet for individual sharing information.

Build upon the success of the 14 Workshops, the Cambodian Blogger Summit (aka Cloggers Summit) is another step of the program that would bring together students that has been well adopting lessons from the workshop, professional Bloggers, writers, NGO workers, media, and tech gurus from within and outside Cambodia to be together to share and learn more from each others on various topics regarding to the new technologies that is changing their life including the useful Open Source Softwares and Web2.0.

Lasting for two days, Cambodian Blogger Summit is the collection of learning, practicing and interacting opportunity for participants.

There will also be Keynote Speeches given by well-known and inspiring speakers from local and international. Speeches will provide motivation experience and inspiring successful stories, as well as case study, regarding young people and information technology.

Several useful and practical presentations will be made by professionals from within and outside the country. Presentations include new media technologies, free and open source softwares, and many useful Web 2.0 tools.

Group discussion by the 100 participants will allow them to interact and produce some finding from given topics.
Seminars will be part of breakout session. Four small seminars will conducted simultaneously with different topics. Participants are free to join their favorite topics.

Panel Discussion will be hosted by experts and professionals to give their opinion and answer participants’ question regarding young people and the development of modern technology.

Role play will be organized as wrapping up activity of the summit as participants will split into groups and act based on given topics and to show what they learn from the two-day program.

Computers and internet connection are provided for participants to do their live blogging and wiki, information sharing.

In Summary the Cambodian Blogger Summit is organized to:

  • Provide Cambodian Bloggers and opportunity to learn from each other and expend knowledge on the use of new technologies.
  • Be a forum for Cambodian Internet surfers, and other stake holders the opportunity to interact and build their network
  • Generate more participation in the Cambodian cyberspace by the inspired new Free softwares and Web2.0
  • Engage attention from traditional media, civil society, development agencies and private entities to new technologies(Open Source and Web2.0) and Cambodian Blogsphere.

Who will participate?

  • 100 bloggers from within and outside Cambodia
  • 15 local and international media (newspaper, TV and radio to cover the event)
  • 30 local and international organizations
  • IT personnel from 15 universities in Phnom Penh

Who should participate?

All bloggers are mostly invited to this program. If you think you have something to share us or would like to join us please kindly list yourself at our participants page. We will check and let you know how could you participate with us.

What will we do at the event?

Please check our Agenda

14 Responses to “Cambodian Blogger Summit”

  1. Kim Pichda Says:

    I am Kim Pichda, a third year law student in PUC and also an administrative assistance and librarian of PUC Legal Clinic. Under the legal clinic program, my team and I have been teaching street laws to high students in Phom Penh and in the provinces. So, I will have a chance to tell them about what the blog is and even tell them how to create blog by their owns. I am writing to ask for Video camera so that i can use for my own interest and the clinic.

  2. Chheang You Says:

    Hello,Among these three awards, I need the Digital Camera. If I can win it, I will use it to:
    Accompany myself when I go somewhere like joining the conferences, having picnices, joining social helping events and so on.I will
    -taking photos that is useful for me and also for the society
    -taking photos at the places that have beautiful views
    -use those photos to upload in my weblog to show people all around the world to let them know and enjoy with my great various pictures;-)

  3. Chheang You Says:

    Hello,Among these three awards, I need the Digital Camera. If I can win it, I will use it to:
    Accompany myself when I go somewhere like joining the conferences, having picnices, joining social helping events and so on.I will
    -taking photos that is useful for me and also for the society
    -taking photos at the places that have beautiful views
    -use those photos to upload in my weblog to show people all around the world to let them know and enjoy with my great various pictures;-)


  4. Dear clogger team et all,

    Today I am very impressed on your workshop you know. Though it lasted a day long, and will be another full day, I am willing to join as a part of modern world technology awareness. Hey, it does not because your attraction, giving away the gife, but I want it anyways.
    As you mentioned,to those people who deserve one of the gift need to respond an appropriate reason of usage of this equipment related to blogging. Frankly, I am very young in term of blogging, though I have my own one-never update because before I do not know what is the use of taking time on such thing. Now I realize.
    If I could have a video camera, I would attach it with me all the way around. Of course, the vedio camera is used to capture the picture and the scense, and it must be that. I would be used to accompany me to grass-rooted communities as I usually go to the provinces to teach young children, and I would share what I have experienced and the pictures taken by posting those on my own blog to share with you guys. The last but not the least, the vedio camera is a symbol of a motivation of mine that encourage me to work on blogging.

  5. Lun Bunthoeun Says:

    If I a chance to get a camera, I will use it as following:

    -Taking photographs of situations of children who are homeless and their problems. And then I will post it in my blogger in order to show the world and ask for funds to help them as well as to tell the government to pay attention to them. Children are very important to develop the society.

    -Taking photographs of people who have problems. When people are in trouble, they always need help and to be know because they want to share their problems to others and get advices. So, not only Cambodian people but also the world know them and they will help them, if they can.

    -Taking photographs of resorts. I want to show the world that Cambodian has many rsorts to have vacation and holidy. When the tourists come to Cambodia, they will spend money for every thing. So the money will belong to Cambodian government and people.

    -Taking photographs of my family.

  6. Chheang You Says:

    Hello! among these three awards, I need Digital Cameras. If I can win this awards, I will use it to acommpany myself when I go somewhere like joinning the conferences, having picnices, joinning social helping events and so on. I will use this camera for:
    – taking photos that are useful for me and also for the society
    – taking photos at many places that have beautiful aspects
    – Using those fhotos to upload in my weblog to share other people to let them know and enjoy with my great various pictures 😉


  7. If I have a chance to get a camera, I will us it as following:

    – Taking photographs of situation of Children who are homeless and their problems. And then I will post them in my blog in order to show the world and ask for funds to help them as well as to tell the government to pay attention to them. Children are very important to develop the society.

    – Taking photographs of people who have problems. When people are in trouble, they always need help and to be known because they want to share their problems to others and get advices. So not only Cambodian people but also the world know them and they will help them if they can.

    -Taking photographs of resorts. I want to show the world that Cambodia has many resorts to have vacation and holiday. When the tourists come to Cambodia, they will spend money for every thing. So the money will belong to Cambodian government and people.


  8. Dear Cambodian Bloggers Summit,

    How developed is Phnom Penh? My blog’s title is ” Phnom Penh on the Move “. If I have a digital camara, I’ll take photographs of Phnom Penh in order to show and prove the world about the beauty of it and how developed it is. Through my blog,the world especially Cambodians living abroad will know and see how develop it is. Furthermore, in order to make the blog more interesting and popular, pictures are required. if I have my own pictures with good discrission, it’ll make my blog unique. Therefore, if I can get a digital camara, it’ll make my blog more believable and attractive.
    Please consider me !

    Sincerely,

    Meng Muoykheng,

  9. Samith Vatnak Oudom Says:

    Hello, my name is Oudom. I am a second year student at PUC majoring in International Relations. I think that this workshop is good for me to improve my knowlegde of Internet. However, it is good time for to ask you a digital camera since the program has given the opportunity for the ones who need it. And if i get the camera, i will use it for:
    – take good photos to put in my blog in order to share them to others peope
    – use for take pictures of some events in Cambodia and other places to put in the blog for everyone knowing about Cambodia
    – keep it with me everyday
    So, i hope that i could get an opportunity to get the camera that i need. Thanks!

  10. Tot Chek Says:

    I am tot chek I want to get digital camera from conference.
    After I have a camera I will take it to take alot of photo that concent with all the ministry of combodian expecially complain with invironment, poors, traffics and alot of comment that give the benifit for many people.

  11. Touch Sitha Says:

    if i get a digital camera,i must do it by taking photograph all somethings that i meet with my friends and some foriegns.Furthmore,i can some take photos with my family and take different things in somewhere that i go.

  12. sothon Says:

    if i will get digital camera, i will take a picture at somwhere in cambodia that relate culture, society,my farmily, my friends,…ect.anyway after i joint blogger summit, i will make a blogger.i will upload a picture and i will show a new thing in cambodia.

  13. tacam Says:

    ខ្ញុំតាខេមមានសេខក្តីរីករាយជាខ្លាំងដែលបានចូលរួមក្នុងកម្មវិធីនេះ ខ្ញុំមានការចាប់អារម្មណ៍​រាល់បទបង្ហាញទាំងឡាយដែលបានលើកមកបង្ហាញ តែខ្ញុំមានការចាប់អារម្មណ៍ទៅលើបបទ បង្ហាញអំពីការ BLOG ជាវិដីដេអូ ដែលមានរូបភាពងាយធ្វើឲ្យគេឆាប់យល់ ដែលវាត្រូវនឹង blog របស់ខ្ញុំ និយាយពីសុខភាព ប្រសិនជាមានវីដេអូ វាងាយស្រួលក្នុងការផ្តល់ចំនេះដឹងនិងការងាយ​ពន្យល់ និងអាចដាក់ ការផ្សាយកម្មវិធីសុខភាពជាវីដីអូខ្លីៗ ប្រសិនជាខ្ញុំមានម៉ាស៊ីនថតវីដីអូ១ ជាការប្រពៃណាស់ សំរាប់បំ

  14. Visal Says:

    Dear Organizer,

    I would like to raise some idears:
    – it is good organized but it is so flexible, it make me can not follow you agenda.
    – Sometime, I can not hear the speakers, ur sound system is a bit error,

    Sincerely,

    Visal


Leave a Reply

